Where you can play in the North West without a handicap certificate
Almost everywhere. Golf Metric checked the visitor pages of all 33 courses in its North West directory, and only two say anything about a handicap at all: Royal Liverpool asks visitors to hold a current club or society handicap of any level, and Royal Lytham and St Annes suggests, but does not require, 21 or better for men and 30 or better for women. Every other club's own site, including every genuine pay-and-play course, is simply silent on the subject.
By Chris, Golf Metric · Updated 23 September 2026 · Facts checked 23 September 2026
What Golf Metric checked
Every course in Golf Metric's North West directory has its own visitor or green fees page (or, for a handful, only a home page could be reached). Golf Metric read each one on 23 Sep 2026 looking for any mention of a handicap certificate or handicap requirement for visitors. The short version: almost none of them say anything about it either way.
The two that do mention a handicap
- Royal Liverpool, Hoylake: its own page says "all visitors are expected to be competent golfers who hold a current Club or Society handicap." That's a requirement to hold a handicap of some kind, not a number you need to beat.
- Royal Lytham and St Annes, Lytham St Annes: advises "handicaps are no higher than 21 for Men, and 30 for Ladies" to get full enjoyment out of the course, and recommends playing its more forgiving tees. The club presents this as advice, not a booking condition.
Neither Royal Birkdale, the third Open venue in Golf Metric's directory, publishes any handicap requirement at all.
Where handicaps genuinely don't come into it
Two courses state plainly, in their own words, that anyone can book:
- Bootle, run by Sefton Council, describes itself as "open for pay & play 7 days a week", with tee times booked by phone or online rather than through a club.
- Carden Park, Chester, books its two courses online "for both members and non-members" alike, with no handicap step in that process.
Golf Metric's own directory also lists three more courses as Municipal or Resort rather than a traditional members' club (Haigh Hall in Wigan, Portal in Tarporley and Shaw Hill in Chorley), which generally means the same open-to-all model, though Golf Metric could not find an equally explicit sentence on their own sites to quote directly.
Everywhere else: simply not stated
The other 26 courses in the directory, from links courses like Formby and Fairhaven to parkland clubs like Wilmslow and Lancaster, don't mention a handicap certificate anywhere Golf Metric could find on their own sites. That's not the same as a guarantee: a club can still ask over the phone or by email when you book, particularly at a longer-established members' club, so it's worth asking if you're new to the game and unsure.
| Course | Kind | Handicap stated for visitors? |
|---|---|---|
| Formby | Links | Not stated |
| Royal Birkdale | Links | Not stated |
| Hillside | Links | Not stated |
| Southport and Ainsdale | Links | Not stated |
| West Lancashire | Links | Not stated |
| Royal Liverpool | Links | Must hold one (no number given) |
| Allerton Manor | Parkland | Not stated |
| Bootle | Municipal | Not stated (explicitly pay and play) |
| Heswall | Parkland | Not stated |
| Lee Park | Parkland | Not stated |
| Grange Park | Parkland | Not stated |
| Delamere Forest | Heathland | Not stated |
| Portal | Resort | Not stated |
| Carden Park | Resort | Not stated (books online, members and non-members alike) |
| The Mere | Resort | Not checked; site now redirects to a Fairmont hotel page |
| Vale Royal Abbey | Parkland | Not stated |
| Eaton | Parkland | Not stated |
| Prestbury | Parkland | Not stated |
| Wilmslow | Parkland | Not stated |
| Warrington | Parkland | Not stated |
| Royal Lytham and St Annes | Links | Advisory only: 21 (men), 30 (ladies) |
| St Annes Old Links | Links | Not stated |
| Fairhaven | Links | Not stated |
| Preston | Parkland | Not stated |
| Leyland | Parkland | Not stated |
| Pleasington | Parkland | Not stated |
| Dean Wood | Parkland | Not stated |
| Shaw Hill | Resort | Not stated |
| Fleetwood | Links | Not stated |
| Lancaster | Parkland | Not stated |
| Clitheroe | Parkland | Not stated |
| Haigh Hall | Municipal | Not stated |
| Rossendale | Moorland | Not stated |
For juniors and older golfers
A handicap certificate isn't the only thing worth checking before a first visit to a course you don't know. Junior policies, minimum ages and whether a parent has to play alongside a younger junior vary just as much club to club, and none of that was checked here; ring ahead if you're booking for a junior or a first-timer of any age.
Questions people ask
Do you need a handicap certificate to book a golf course in the UK?
Not as a general rule. There's no law or single UK-wide requirement for it. Some private members' clubs, especially well-known ones, ask visitors to hold one so they know roughly what pace and standard of play to expect; genuine pay-and-play and municipal courses generally don't ask at all. Always check the individual club's own visitor page before you book, since policy varies club to club and can change.
Which North West courses are genuinely pay-and-play?
Bootle, run by Sefton Council, states plainly on its own site that it's "open for pay & play 7 days a week". Several resort courses, including Carden Park, book online for members and non-members alike with no handicap step in the process. See pay and play golf in the North West for the fuller list.
Does "not stated" mean a club definitely doesn't ask for a handicap?
No. It means Golf Metric could not find anything about it on that club's own website on the date checked. Some clubs may still ask on the phone, in an email, or on the day; ring ahead if you're unsure, particularly at a well-known club.
Where can you actually get a handicap if you don't have one?
England Golf issues a Handicap Index (the official measure of your scoring ability) through affiliated clubs, and there are routes to one without joining a traditional club; see how to get a golf handicap without joining a club for that in full.
Read next
Sources
- Golf Metric course directory (lib/courses.json), checked 22 September 2026
- Bootle Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Carden Park, Green Fees & Opens, checked 23 September 2026
- Royal Liverpool Golf Club, Before You Visit, checked 23 September 2026
- Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club, Green Fees, checked 23 September 2026
- Formby Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Hillside Golf Club, Visitors, checked 23 September 2026
- Southport and Ainsdale Golf Club, Visitors, checked 23 September 2026
- West Lancashire Golf Club, Visitors and Green Fees, checked 23 September 2026
- St Annes Old Links, Visitors, checked 23 September 2026
- Fairhaven Golf Club, Visitors, checked 23 September 2026
- Allerton Manor Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Heswall Golf Club, Visitors, checked 23 September 2026
- Lee Park Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Grange Park Golf Club, Visitors, checked 23 September 2026
- Delamere Forest Golf Club, Visitors, checked 23 September 2026
- Portal Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Vale Royal Abbey Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Eaton Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Prestbury Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Wilmslow Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Warrington Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Preston Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Leyland Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Pleasington Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Dean Wood Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Shaw Hill Golf Club and Hotel, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Fleetwood Golf Club, booking site home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Lancaster Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Clitheroe Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Haigh Woodland Park, home page, checked 23 September 2026
- Rossendale Golf Club, home page, checked 23 September 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email chris@ai-metric.com and we will check it against the source.