Organising a golf society day in the North West
Most North West parkland clubs class a society as 12 players or more, though it runs from 8 at a resort like Carden Park to 16 at a links club like Fairhaven. Few clubs publish a set price online: where they do, 2026 rates run from around £25 a head for a midweek round at Leyland to £110.90pp for a full package with dinner at Pleasington. Most ask you to ring or email for a quote built around your date, numbers and catering.
By Chris, Golf Metric · Updated 23 September 2026 · Facts checked 23 September 2026
Group size: 12 is the usual line
At most traditional parkland clubs, 12 players is where a "society" starts. Leyland, Pleasington and Warrington all set that figure on their own sites; below it, you're booking as ordinary visitors rather than as a society. Fairhaven, a links course, asks for a minimum of 16. Resorts run looser: Carden Park says its society packages "start from 8 guests and can cater to up to 80 people" across its two courses.
Deposits
Clubs that mention a deposit at all don't publish the amount online. Leyland's own visiting parties page confirms "a deposit is required, with start times confirmed on the receipt," without saying how much. Treat a deposit, and a deadline for confirming final numbers, as something you'll agree by phone or email rather than something you can look up in advance.
What a package actually includes
A typical society package bundles the round with food, sometimes a welcome coffee and bacon roll, and sometimes prizes for things like longest drive and nearest the pin. What's included, and what it costs, varies a lot by club:
| Club | Kind | Minimum players | 2026 price | What's included |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Leyland | Parkland | 12 | £25 to £38 per player, by day and group size | 18 or 27 holes; no Texas Scramble; buggies £30 to £40 extra |
| Pleasington | Parkland | 12 | £50 (winter) to £110.90 (summer) per player, across 4 packages | Golf plus catering from bacon rolls to a 3-course dinner |
| Warrington | Parkland | 12 | Not published | 18 or 27 holes; winter packages 1 Nov to 31 Mar; no weekend bookings |
| Prestbury | Parkland | Not stated | Not published | Bacon rolls, 18 holes, a 2 or 3 course evening meal; usual day is Thursday |
| Fairhaven | Links | 16 | Not published | 18, 27 or 36 holes; tailored breakfast, lunch or dinner |
| Carden Park | Resort | 8 | Not published | 18 holes on either course, longest drive and nearest the pin, an event coordinator |
| Shaw Hill | Resort | Not stated | Not published | Fully tailored packages |
Pleasington's and Leyland's own price tables are the most detailed of the clubs Golf Metric checked; both are 2026 season prices and will move on to new figures in future years, so treat them as a guide to the shape of pricing rather than a live quote.
Formats, explained
Stableford is the format most society days default to. It's an official form of play under Rule 21.1 of the Rules of Golf: instead of adding up strokes for the whole round, each hole earns points by comparing your score to a fixed target, usually par adjusted for your handicap. A blow-up hole costs you a small number of points rather than wrecking your card, which suits a field of mixed ability playing for a prize on the day.
Texas Scramble is a team format, not an official Rule of Golf: every player in a team tees off, the team picks the best shot, and everyone plays their next shot from that spot, repeating all the way to the hole. It keeps pace brisk and lets weaker players contribute without being punished for one bad shot, which is why societies often choose it, though not every club allows it. Leyland's own visiting parties page rules it out specifically.
Beyond those two, expect a club to also offer ordinary individual Stableford or strokeplay, or a better ball format (in a pair, the better of the two scores counts on each hole) if your group asks for it. Confirm the format with the club when you book, since not every course supports every option.
Booking it
Every club Golf Metric checked wants a phone call or an online enquiry form rather than a self-service booking: expect to give your preferred date, an alternative date, your group size, and how many holes you want (18, 27 or even 36 at some clubs). Several note that popular days, especially Thursdays and summer weekdays, book up a season ahead, so enquire early if you have a date in mind.
Weekday and weekend rules
A few clubs restrict society days to weekdays outright: Warrington's own page states "society bookings are not available on weekends." Others price weekdays differently from weekends without banning them, and Leyland charges less for a Monday or Tuesday round than for Wednesday to Friday. If a weekend date matters to your group, ask directly rather than assume it's on offer.
Questions people ask
What's the minimum group size for a society day?
Usually 12 at a traditional parkland club. Leyland, Pleasington and Warrington all set 12 as the cut-off between a society booking and ordinary visitor green fees. Fairhaven, a links club, asks for 16. Resorts can be more flexible: Carden Park's own page says its packages "start from 8 guests".
Do you have to pay a deposit?
Often, but the amount is rarely published online. Leyland's own page confirms "a deposit is required" without stating a figure. Expect to agree a deposit and a final numbers deadline when you speak to the club directly, and ask what happens if your final headcount drops.
What format works best for a group of mixed ability?
Stableford (an official form of play under Rule 21.1 of the Rules of Golf) is the standard choice: points are scored hole by hole against a fixed target rather than added up as strokes, so one bad hole doesn't wreck a card, and it suits a wide range of handicaps playing together. Texas Scramble, where a team plays every shot from whichever team member hit the best one, is another common society format, though not every club allows it. Leyland, for one, doesn't.
Can you book a society day at the weekend?
Not always. Warrington's own page states "society bookings are not available on weekends". Others don't rule weekends out but price them differently or leave them to normal visitor availability; ask when you enquire rather than assume either way.
How far ahead should you book?
Clubs consistently say early. Prestbury's own page notes that "the success of these events has resulted in a large number of societies returning to us year on year", so popular Thursdays and summer dates go first. A club's own visitor or society page, linked below, is the place to start.
Read next
Sources
- Leyland Golf Club, Visiting Parties, checked 23 September 2026
- Pleasington Golf Club, Societies, checked 23 September 2026
- Warrington Golf Club, Societies, checked 23 September 2026
- Prestbury Golf Club, Societies, checked 23 September 2026
- Fairhaven Golf Club, Societies, checked 23 September 2026
- Carden Park, UK Golf Society Days, checked 23 September 2026
- Shaw Hill Golf Club and Hotel, Corporate Golf, checked 23 September 2026
- Delamere Forest Golf Club, Societies, checked 23 September 2026
- The R&A, Rules of Golf, Rule 21.1 (Stableford), checked 23 September 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email chris@ai-metric.com and we will check it against the source.